Criminal Defense Lawyer in Okaloosa County
Esteemed Legal Professionals To Fight for You

Minor in Possession of Alcohol Attorneys in Okaloosa County

Put 72+ Years of Combined Legal Experience on Your Side

Florida Statutes Section 562.111 states that is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to be in possession of alcohol. It is important for individuals to realize that a violation of this law requires only possession of alcohol, not the actual consumption or drinking of alcohol. An individual can be charged even if the beverage is unopened. If you have been charged with being a minor in possession of alcohol, you need strong legal representation immediately.

At Dewrell & Herndon, many of our clients are arrested when visiting the area for Spring Break for what used to be considered a somewhat minor offense. The offense is Minor in Possession of Alcohol or MIP. Nowadays, many individuals are actually arrested, taken to jail and required to post a bond, and will have a mug shot that is now a public record. A conviction of this particular crime can result in exorbitant fines, revoked driving privileges, and even extensive jail time.

To retain our services, call our office today at (850) 629-7163.

Penalties for MIP Charges

For a first offense MIP, it is considered a second-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by fines of up to $500 and up to 60 days in prison. A second offense of the same crime is moved up to a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months imprisonment. Additionally, if an individual under 18 years of age is convicted of being a minor in possession of alcohol, the Court may direct the DMV to withhold issuance of, or revoke, that individual's driver's license for a period of 6 to 12 months.

Furthermore, a conviction will appear on your criminal record and possibly negatively impact your ability to:

  • Find housing
  • Apply for loans
  • Seek employment

Whether you are a resident of Okaloosa County, Walton County or Santa Rosa, we are confident we can help you. At the law firm of Dewrell and Herndon, we do all that we can to minimize the long-term consequences of this offense for our clients and their criminal record. We are generally able to resolve the case without our client having to return to Florida and we do all that can to have these charges dismissed so that our client’s record can be sealed or expunged and he or she can have his mugshot removed.

For a free consultation and to speak with one of our Okaloosa criminal defense lawyers at Dewrell & Herndon, reach us by dialing (850) 629-7163.​​​​​​

Awards

  • Martindale-Hubbell, Peer Rated 2017
  • Martindale-Hubbell, Distinguished
  • Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • AV Preeminent 2012 Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers
  • AV Preeminent - Highest Possible Rating - Dewrell
  • Dewrell 35 Years Martindale Hubbell
  • Ashley Smith Herndon - AV Preeminent for 5 Years